我们的愿景:全面共享

让埃塞俄比亚的学生们具备改变其生活和国家的能力

Education for Ethiopia(埃塞俄比亚教育)是一家社会性企业,旨在为埃塞俄比亚学生提供以其母语来进行的数字教育。埃塞俄比亚是一个使用多种语言和拥有多样性文化的国家,约40%的人口年龄不足14岁。我们希望能让埃塞俄比亚学生们使用其母语来上课,从而使其具备改变自己的生活和国家的能力。

语言问题

想象一下,如果您必须使用一种几乎不懂的语言来学习STEM(科学、技术、工程和数学)科目,会是个什么样子。

埃塞俄比亚学生所面临的挑战之一就是,高等教育是以英语来进行授课,但许多学生的英语熟练程度不足以听懂STEM科目的复杂课程。我们希望能填补学生与课堂教学之间的空白。我们虽不能取代学校,却绝对可以作为学校教育的良好补充。

时间矛盾问题

除了正常的学校学习,学生的课余时间也非常有限。

我们的学生们负担很重,有时甚至超出其年龄承受能力。需要在外面打工,还要在家帮助家人。学生,尤其是女生们,通常需要:

•每天都要给全家做饭

•通过出售一些自制物品赚一些钱

•如果生活在没有洁净水的地方,要去打水

•照顾年幼的兄弟姐妹

我们可以在哪些方面提供帮助

易于接受的教育

我们以当地语言,利用学生更熟悉的语境和解释来进行授课。

 

他们可以根据自己的节奏来学习我们的数字课程,而且课程可以暂停、倒回和重复,而这在课堂上所无法做到的。如果他们因为生活所迫而辍学了一段时间,那么我们的平台能让他们尽快赶上来。

 

此外,我们的大部分教材都是采用引人入胜的视频格式,素材源自世界各地的一流内容提供商。

帮助学生们提高成绩

有了恰当的支持,我们的学生就能发挥潜能。

作为一个年轻人占比很大的国家,埃塞俄比亚具有令人惊叹的潜力。当今的学生们已具备了达到任何专业最高水平的能力。而我们希望通过提供更加灵活和可及的教育来促进这一过程。我们的梦想是为当今的孩子们提供帮助,让他们在将来能够成长为具备能力和自信的专业人员。

YIMARU平台是:

一个为学生提供K-12 STEM课程以及外语培训的解决方案

“ Yimaru”是一个面向学生的平台,可通过Youtube频道,网站和移动应用程序来吸引学生们的参与。我们正在在Yimaru上打造K-12 STEM课程以及外语培训。

 

随着我们的成长,我们希望进一步打造出其他能满足职业教育、高等教育和个人发展的平台。

我们的合作伙伴

携手合作,把我们的愿景变成现实

我们目前正在与Khan学院合作,将其世界一流的教育内容带给埃塞俄比亚学生。我们还积极致力于扩大我们在内容、翻译和分销方面的合作伙伴关系。通过我们的共同努力,为埃塞俄比亚孩子们的生活带来积极的影响。

博客

© 2020 EDUCATION FOR ETHIOPIA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

OUR VISION: ACCESS FOR ALL

Empower Ethiopian students to transform their lives and their nation

Education for Ethiopia is a social enterprise that aims to provide digital education to Ethiopian students in local languages. Ethiopia is a country of many diverse languages and cultures, with about 40% of the population under the age of 14.Our hope is to empower Ethiopian students with lessons in their own languages, so that they may transform their lives and their nation. 

THE LANGUAGE ISSUE

Imagine if you had to learn STEM subjects in a language you barely understand.

One of the challenges that Ethiopian students face is the fact that higher education is provided in English and many students are not fluent enough to absorb complicated lessons in the STEM subjects. We hope to fill in this gap between the students and the lessons in the classroom. We cannot replace schools. But we can certainly supplement them.​

THE TIME CONSTRAINT ISSUE

Beyond school, students have many demands on their time. 

Our students shoulder serious responsibilities, sometimes beyond their years. They work and help their families in and outside their homes. It is very common for students, especially female pupils, to:

  • prepare food for their entire family daily

  • earn some money by selling home-made items

  • fetch water if they live in places where clean water is unavailable

  • take care of younger siblings

WHERE WE CAN HELP

Easy-to-access education

We provide content in local languages, using context and explanations that students are more familiar with. 

 

Our digital lessons enable them to learn at their own pace, with the ability to pause, rewind, and repeat in a way that they are not able to in the classroom. If they skip school for a period of time because life gets in the way, our platform enables them to catch up.

 

In addition, most of our instruction materials are in engaging video format, sourced from world-class content providers from around the globe.

HELPING STUDENTS ACHIEVE MORE

With the right support, our students will fulfill their potential.

As a country of young people, Ethiopia has incredible human potential. Students of today have the ability to reach the highest level of any profession. We hope to facilitate this process by making education more flexible and accessible. Our dream is to help the children of today blossom into the  capable and confident professionals of tomorrow. 

THE YIMARU PLATFORM IS:

A student-facing solution that provides K-12 STEM lessons as well as foreign language training

“Yimaru” is our student-facing platform that reaches students through a Youtube channel, a website, and a mobile application. On Yimaru, we are building our K-12 STEM lessons as well as foreign language training. 

As we grow, we hope to include other platforms that cater to vocational education, higher education, and personal development.

OUR PARTNERSHIPS

Partnering to bring our vision to life

We are currently working with Khan Academy to bring their world-class content to Ethiopian students. We are also actively working to expand our partnerships in content, translation, and distribution. Together we make a positive impact on the lives of Ethiopian children. 

RECENT BLOG POSTS

© 2020 EDUCATION FOR ETHIOPIA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED